Tue, 27 April 2021

6:30 pm - 7:30 pm BST

The Future of Global Power

Tim Marshall, author of Prisoners of Geography

Join Logo

If you want to understand what’s happening in the world, look at a map. The internationally bestselling author of Prisoners of Geography joins us to reveal the future of power and politics.

‘Another outstanding guide to the modern world. Tim Marshall is a master at explaining what you need to know and why’ – Peter Frankopan, author of The Silk Roads

Tim Marshall’s global bestseller Prisoners of Geography showed how every nation’s choices are limited by mountains, rivers, seas and concrete. Since then, the geography hasn’t changed, but the world has.

In this talk inspired by his new book The Power of Geography, Marshall takes us into ten regions that are set to shape global politics and power. Find out why the Earth’s atmosphere is the world’s next battleground; why the fight for the Pacific is just beginning; and why Europe’s next refugee crisis is closer than it thinks.

Covering Australia, The Sahel, Greece, Turkey, the UK, Iran,  Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia, Spain and Space, delivered with Marshall’s trademark wit and insight, this is a lucid and gripping exploration of the power of geography to shape humanity’s past, present – and future.

Fans of Hans Rosling, Peter Frankopan and Yuval Noah Harari ought not to miss this livestream with one of our leading authorities on global politics and power.

Praise for Tim Marshall’s The Power of Geography:

‘This valuable book is an urgent and accessible study of the facts and forces that will shape our future on earth and beyond’ – Ed Husain, author of The House of Islam

‘A skilful navigation of the regions that could define geopolitics for future generations. One to read to stay ahead of the game’ – Dharshini David, author of The Almighty Dollar

‘A compelling account of the return of geopolitics by the master of maps’ – Professor Brendan Simms, author of Britain’s Europe: A Thousand Years of Conflict and Cooperation

‘An insight into what will shape the world . . . clear writing in complex times’ – Eamonn Holmes

You can access this event and many more by subscribing to How To + for £17.50 + VAT a month.

Already subscribed to How To + ?
Please Log in here

Join how to +

Tim Marshall

Journalist, Editor and Bestselling Author

Tim Marshall is a leading authority on foreign affairs with more than 30 years of reporting experience. He was diplomatic editor at Sky News, and before that was working for the BBC and LBC/IRN radio. He has reported from 40 countries and covered conflicts in Croatia, Bosnia, Macedonia, Kosovo, Afghanistan, Iraq, Lebanon, Syria and Israel. He is the author of the Sunday Times bestsellers Prisoners of Geography, Divided, Worth Dying For, and Shadowplay. He is founder and editor of the current affairs site TheWhatandtheWhy.com.