Mon, 21 September 2020

6:30 pm - 7:30 pm GMT

How to Stay Sane in an Age of Division

Elif Shafak in conversation with Matthew Stadlen

A global voice for freedom of speech and a major international literary figure, author and activist Elif Shafak joins us to make an impassioned plea to build bridges in our polarised age.

Ours is the age of contagious anxiety. We feel overwhelmed by the events around us, by injustice, by suffering, by an endless feeling of crisis. So, how can we nurture the parts of ourselves that hope, trust and believe in something better? And how can we stay sane in this age of division?
In a powerful, uplifting plea for conscious optimism, Booker Prize-nominated novelist and activist Elif Shafak will draw on her own memories and delves into the power of stories to bring us together. In the process, she will reveal how listening to each other can nurture democracy, empathy and our faith in a kinder and wiser future.
Fans of Greta Thurnberg, Mary Beard and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie should not miss this chance to hear from ‘One of the most important writers at work today’ (Independent).
This event takes place at 6:30pm BST.
 

Elif Shafak

Award-winning author, essayist and member of the Royal Society of Literature.

Elif Shafak is an award-winning British-Turkish novelist. She has published seventeen books, eleven of which are novels, and her work has been translated into fifty languages. Her latest novel 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in this Strange World is shortlisted for the Booker Prize. Shafak holds a PhD in political science and she has taught at various universities in Turkey, the US and the UK, including St Anne’s College, Oxford University. She is a member of World Economic Forum Global Agenda Council on Creative Economy and a founding member of the European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR). A member of the Royal Society of Literature, Shafak has judged numerous literary prizes, and chaired the Wellcome Prize.

Matthew Stadlen

Broadcaster, writer and regular How To Academy host.

Matthew Stadlen is a broadcaster, writer and regular How To Academy host. Previously he was an LBC presenter, wrote The Matthew Stadlen Interview for the Telegraph and presented the TV series Five Minutes With and On The Road With for the BBC. He is a birdwatcher and photographer, and his book How To See Birds is out now. Twitter: @matthewstadlen