Rutger Bregman became a viral sensation taking on the billionaires at Davos. He joins us in London to present a bold, farsighted and realistic vision of a better world.

Listen out for Rutger Bregman. He has a big future shaping the future‘ Observer

Rutger Bregman is fast becoming the world’s most influential young thinker. The author of four books before the age of 30, including the international bestseller Utopia For Realists, the Dutch historian broke the internet in January when he told a super-rich audience assembled at the World Economic Forum to stop congratulating themselves about philanthropy and start paying a fairer share of tax.

 

 

His vision does not stop at reforming the global elite. In conversation with former Spectator editor and liberal conservative journalist Matthew D’Ancona, Bregman will show that we can construct a society with visionary ideas that are, in fact, wholly implementable. Every milestone of civilisation – from the end of slavery to the beginning of democracy – was once considered a utopian fantasy. New utopian ideas such as universal basic income and a fifteen-hour work week can become reality in our lifetime.

From a Canadian city that once completely eradicated poverty, to Richard Nixon’s near implementation of a basic income for millions of Americans, Bregman takes us on a journey through history, beyond the traditional left-right divides, as he introduces ideas whose time has come.

Fans of Steven Pinker, Naomi Klein, Paul Mason, Malcolm Gladwell ought not to miss this inspiring and visionary talk.

 

Praise for Rutger Bregman:

If you’re fed up with moaning, you owe it to yourself to read this book” Evening Standard

This is a Read Now book. Nothing dystopian about this one: a young (he’s 29), practical set of ideas for how the next generation can do better.” Jeanette Winterson

If you’re bored with hackneyed debates, decades-old right-wing and left-wing clichés, you may enjoy the bold thinking, fresh ideas, lively prose, and evidence-based arguments in Utopia for Realists” Steven Pinker

You may not dream the same dreams as Bregman – but he invites you to take dreaming seriously.” Will Hutton, Observer

 

 

 

Venue

Emmanuel Centre

9-23 Marsham Street
London SW1P 3DW

View map